Travel: Why I May Never Go Back

IMG_5235_Fotor

I asked John if we could go to the beach after not traveling for almost two months. I wanted a relaxing weekend, just lounging at the beach and chilling. It was almost the weekend and we have yet to plan our trip. We had a couple of places in mind but nothing was set. I asked, “Puerto Galera?”, John agreed. Friday came and we found out that our officemates were going there too, not knowing anything about Galera, we decided to tag along. 

Bus from Kamuning to Batangas Port. Boat ride to the island. But no, since it’s summer, we failed to consider that. We waited two hours in the bus station, the trip itself only took two and a half hours, booked a boat trip for the 3:30 trip, boarded the boat at 5. I was trying my really best not get pissed off at how everything was not going well and how we wasted one day just to get to the destination. 

We arrived in Galera 45 minutes past six, we were ‘welcomed’ by these locals who were charging for environmental fee. Took a tryc cause we wanted to avoid all the people and went to the first room our officemate booked, he said that it wasn’t the room he paid for, but decided to take it anyway since it’s just for one night and everyone’s just too exhausted. Had dinner by the beach, along with seven hundred million tourists (JK), dinner was a tad expensive, but the entertainment was great. The following day, Sunday we decided to go island hopping. The price was sort of reasonable, but then you have to board a smaller boat to get to the corals – which they charged us separately. If you’re a broke traveler like us, Galera isn’t a place for you, or we have just not explored that option. I saw a turtle while snorkeling and that I think was the highlight of my trip, hahaha! 

All in all, I had fun. It was far from what I wanted that weekend but Puerto Galera didn’t offer that. Maybe because we stayed in White Beach where it’s the tourist capital. Puerto Galera was beautiful, but the flock of people just makes me feel like it isn’t worth it. Maybe it’s just me. And maybe it’s too soon for me to tell. To be honest, I don’t hate Puerto Galera, I mean, if given another chance and a better situation, I would definitely go back. Maybe when it’s off season or something. 

IMG_5209

Note: Bring cash since the island only has two ATMs. Puerto Galera truly is a tourist destination, almost all activities will cost you. Prices for food / water has tourist prices, be prepared. 

maria

Travel: Why I May Never Go Back

43 thoughts on “Travel: Why I May Never Go Back

  1. lifeaccordingtolove says:

    Hi there! Puerto Galera, I have never been here but its looks touristic. It looks like you had a great time despite that there’s too many people flocking around.

    Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joser Ferreras says:

    I heard a few unflattering things about White Beach as well. At least now I know it won’t be at the top of my list when I finally go there for some quiet time. 🙂

    Like

  3. It looks so green and lush! But yeah I do agree that it does have the tendency to be costly! Almost as costly as flying abroad to me! But who knows, maybe if I needed to go there, maybe I will like it as much as you did! Hahaha!

    Like

    1. It does, it’s beautiful in Galera, the people just ruins it for everyone! I don’t think it’s gonna cost as much as flying abroad, but it can be a little too expensive for a local trip. Haha!

      Like

  4. Also have never been to Galera as my first impression is that its probably too crowded and this post confims it. you’re right, offpeak would be the best to visit as id still like to see the place. 🙂 thank u for sharing your experience with plain honesty. appreciate posts like this.

    Like

  5. Dida Rojas says:

    WE were there in Febuary but didn’t stay in White beach. We opted to stay in Talipanan, tless crowded but quite exclusive from the crowds, the tourists here are more of the Europeans and check the internet, they have cheaper accomodations available and there is this wonderful Italian restaurant. The thing is , if you want to go to white beach , it is Php 150.00 one way per trip. We truly enjoyed, plus take your boat rides in the morning, the water is calmer. They tell me starting November is a great time to visit again.

    Like

  6. inmyownatlas says:

    You are such a beach bum! I agree sometimes when it’s really crowded you easily feel tired. Why is that? I have never been to Puerto Galera, when is the off-season there?

    Like

    1. Even in Baler on a Saturday, there are too many people for my liking and I have no patience for it. Haha! Hmm I think avoid summer, sembreak and Christmas break? Or use the hotel’s “off peak rates” as guide. Lol.

      Like

  7. Awww! Sorry to hear about your experience. 😦 I went there last year same month for the first with 2 of my friends. White beach was overcrowded so we decided to walk for a bot 5-10 minutes away from white beach and found a perfect spot.

    Like

    1. Glad you found one! I mean, the congestion of people and walls stressed the life out of me. Haha! We didn’t even bother strolling around the area except when we went snorkeling. LOL. Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, I mean I’m thankful for John and our friends, and even my officemate’s kids didn’t give us a hard time, and helped us enjoy the trip too. But all good. 😀 Thank you for dropping by!

      Like

  8. One of the reasons why people don’t go to travel due to the expensive cost most people charge for tourists. Sad to hear about your experience. this happens to other places as well. That’s why it is really necessary to at least study the place before going there or somehow look for someone who is familiar or who stays at there so that you can really look for lesser options.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I know. Sad that Puerto Galera doesn’t have this homey vibe and everything seems commercialized. We’ve been to other tourist destinations and this is the first time we’ve felt this way, John is usually good in talking to the locals, Galera just feels…. Hmm. Too touristy. Haha sorry can’t find the right words. Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

      Like

  9. Wonderfully put! You are becoming a story teller, Em! Puerto Galera was the trend when I was in college but up until now, I have never had the chance to visit it. Looking at your photos, It doesn’t look like how people described it to me, mainly focusing on filth. I guess I should see it for myself. Xx

    Like

  10. *Now on the bucket list!* They say that Puerto Galera is much cleaner than Boracay and now I can’t wait to schedule a vacation there! The pictures tell it all! Even though it is now a popular tourist destination in Mindoro, it definitely is a must-go! Thank for this, ate Em-em! 🙂

    Like

  11. A weekend getaway always has its ups and down but I’m glad to read that you had fun nevertheless. I haven’t been to Puerto Galera yet but thanks for the heads-up 🙂 I also don’t want to spend too much on a weekend trip huhu

    Like

  12. I don’t remember being asked for environmental fee when I went to Galera this year. But I went to Sabang, I’m not sure if it makes any difference. I wasn’t crazy about Galera the way I am with Boracay but I still appreciate the chillax vibe and the warm people. I also went snorkeling but not as lucky as you, I didn’t see a turtle. 😦

    Like

    1. Yeah, that was what our officemate who goes to Galera consistently that it was the first time he was charged for environmental fee. Oh well. I haven’t visited Boracay yet, John feels like we’d be bored with it. But I really really really wanna goooo. Thanks for dropping by!

      Like

  13. I don’t like touristy places, so if ever I plan to go to Puerto Galera, I’ll really make sure it’s off season so I could soak in the beauty of the place. Thanks for the heads up! 🙂

    Like

  14. pswdarlene says:

    Aww sad to hear that you had a less than ideal weekend. But that’s travel. We cannot control what happens. At least you still got to enjoy and see a turtle! But def charge to experience all the bad stuff and learn from it next time. 🙂

    Like

  15. everywherewithferna says:

    I went there last 2009 same thing as with so many people.. And I decided to come back over weekdays and I felt satisfied. I think its better to come back again on a weekday I’m sure you will love it

    Like

Leave a Reply

